Series History

Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones
This series was adapted from a
Kart Club that raced monthly, 
on Sundays. The racers enjoyed
this style of racing so much that one
person, Phil Harp, stepped up and
sought out track promoters.  Phil
entertained them on the idea of a
race class that would average 15-20
participants, have a devoted fan base, and
was deserving of a chance to run as part of
the "big show" with the regular Saturday
night classes.  On Thanksgiving weekend of
2005, Desoto Super Speedway in Bradenton, Florida
gave the series a race date.  Twenty-six champ karts showed up
that night, and the series was a big hit! 

We are growing every season in participants and tracks.  Currently we have
raced at five pavement tracks in central and southwest Florida.  We have expanded
from an "intermission only" race for trophies, to two separate points series that attract
sponsorship and cash payout's, complimented with trophies for the top three finishers.


The SOUTHEAST CHAMP KART SERIES - A little different....  a little bigger....  let the drafting begin!
South East Champ Kart Series HALL OF FAME - Where the Past is Honored
  The SouthEast Champ Kart Series wishes to pay tribute to Florida's karting pioneers and tracks of yesteryear.  Although the sounds of racing engines have long since subsided,                the enjoyment and contributions that each produced will never be forgotten!
To suggest additions to the 'Final Lap', please email the track or name to Mike Portman at
Blountstown Speedway (Blountstown, FL)  Sunshine Speedway (St. Petersburg, FL)
St. Lucie Speedway (Fort Pierce, FL)               Seffner Speedway (Seffner, FL)
Hyman-Myers Speedway (Tallahassee, FL)       University Complex (Bradenton, FL)
Sprockets Park (Lakeland, FL)   Municipal Stadium (Daytona Beach, FL)
Dade City Speedway (Dade City, FL) Don MacCalla - Track Official (Tampa, FL)
Naples Motorsports Park (Naples, FL)             ThunderBowl Speedway (Ocala, FL)

Once you have won a championship, you are a CHAMPION FOREVER
JD Cordon of N. Fort Myers won the track series championship at Desoto Super Speedway in 2008.  JD won three series events in 2008, and captured the Rookie of the Year Award.  JD is crewed by his father Scott.  
2008 Desoto Super Speedway Champion
2008 Florida Triple Crown Champion
CHASE FITZGERALD of Lutz won the highly competitive Florida Triple Crown in 2008.  Chase races under the Cutting Edge Motorsports banner, and won two Triple Crown races on his drive to the title. 
2008 Charlotte County Motorsports Park Champion
PHIL HARP of Clearwater won the track championship at Charlotte County Motorsports Park in 2008.  Phil captured two CCMP wins during the season.  Phil credited his wife Joan, and Chad Dokken for their help all season.
JASON QUINN of Ellenton won the series first championship in 2006.  Jason is a veteran central Florida karter, and is crewed by his brother Kevin, and his father Don.  The series logo carries Jason's number, in tribute to his accomplishment.
RYAN WILLIAMS of Lithia won the Desoto Super Speedway crown in 2007.  Ryan narrowly defeated his father Rance for the title.  Ryan is sponsored by his father, and GECKER Motorsports.
RYAN WILLIAMS of Lithia won the inaugural Florida Triple Crown Series in 2007.  Ryan scored two wins, and two seconds, narrowly defeating his father Rance for the title.  Ryan is sponsored by his father, and GECKER Motorsports.
Don MacCalla Tribute Race August 16, 2008

To view photos of Don, click HERE
    South East Champ Kart Series

Where race fans pay for the whole seat, but only use the edge!
email me
Page Last updated: 3/4/2014
On December 6, 2010, the series lost RON LETOURNEAU.  Although Ron was never a "Champion", he was a friend and inspiration to many within the South East Champ Kart Series.  In memory of Ron, the series has retired the number 96.
CHASE FITZGERALD of Lutz became the first repeat Triple Crown Champion in 2010, capturing his second crown.  Despite missing the first Triple Crown race, Chase finished 1st, 1st and 2nd in the remaining 3 races, to win the title. 
TIM SIMMONS of Ruskin captured the 2010 Overall Track Series Championship.  Tim won 3 races in 2010, and also appeared on ESPN proudly wearing his SECKS shirt.  
2010 Auburndale Speedway
Track Champion
2010 Rookie of the Year
WESLEY GONZALES of Wesley Chapel was awarded the 2010 Rookie of the Year Award.   Wesley had several strong races in 2010, finishing 6th in the Overall Track Series Points.  
2010 Punta Gorda Speedway
Track Champion
TIM SIMMONS opened the 2010 Track Series races at Citrus County Speedway with a win and never looked back, claiming the Track Champions Trophy.
SECKS All-Time Feature Winners
DUSTIN CHISHOLM of Seminole captured the 2009 Florida Triple Crown Series Title.  Dustin was busy in 2009, as he also graduated from the University of South Florida. 
2009 Auburndale Speedway
Track Champion
2009 Rookie of the Year
KENNER BROWN III collected the 2009 Rookie of the Year Award.   Kenner won two races, finishing second in the Overall Track Series Points.  
2009 Punta Gorda Speedway
Track Champion
TIM SIMMONS became the first racer to win a Track Champions Trophy without claiming a victory.  His consistency was rewarded, as he never finished lower than fourth at Punta Gorda Speedway.
2009 Desoto Super Speedway
Track Champion
JD CORDON claimed his first SECKS Track Champions Trophy at the high-banked ultrafast Desoto Super Speedway. 
KENNER BROWN III  collected his first Track Champions trophy at the series shortest track, the 1/4 mile paved oval of  Auburndale Speedway.   
JD CORDON of N. Ft Myers captured the 2009 Overall Track Series title with an impressive 5 wins on his march to the championship.  JD also became the series youngest Champion, at age 16. 
2009 Desoto Super Speedway
Track Champion
JD CORDON claimed his second SECKS Track Champions Trophy, at Citrus County Speedway.
On August 16, 2008, the series ran a race to honor the memory of veteran karting official and racer Don MacCalla. 
2010 Citrus County Speedway
Track Champion
MITCHELL STEVENS of Riverview claimed his first SECKS Track Champions Trophy, after several strong races at Auburndale Speedway.
KENNER BROWN III moved to North Carolina mid-season, but continued to attend the SECKS events.  His 'refuse to quit' attitude paid off at Punta Gorda Speedway, with the Track Champions trophy.